Panchakarma is ostensibly the most prominent branch of Ayurveda. Panchakarma literally translates to "Five Actions," which is appropriate given that this technique is based on five distinct basic activities that control the body: Vomiting, Purgation, Niruham, Anuvaasan, and Nasyam. In other words, the Panchakarma healing method serves as the foundation for the majority of Ayurvedic techniques.

Use of medicated oils, which aid in purging impurities from the human body, is essential to the effectiveness of panchakarma. Panchakarma is the true embodiment of Ayurvedic values, and it lives up to its name.

Five Panchakarma Therapies

  • Vaman
  • Virechan
  • Basti
  • Nasya
  • Raktamokshan